Gimme more online video, just don’t make me pay

U.K. law firm Olswang has published its annual Convergence Report, tracking British consumer attitudes to online and on-demand services. This year’s study reveals that almost a third of broadband users are regular consumers of online TV or movies – but they don’t want to have to pay for the content.

When the ‘Kangaroo’ JV between the BBC, ITV and Channel 4 launches next year, it’ll be interesting to see what mix of business models are offered.

In a related development, BT is experimenting with ad-funded VoD on its Vision IPTV service. A sign that PPV is RIP?

2 thoughts on “Gimme more online video, just don’t make me pay

Add yours

  1. kyte.tv is fun and free. I have been using it for 4 months and I have created my own channel with my own content. my friends love it since they can watch my shows from facebook where I have a channel embedded. Kyte’s mobile application is great because I can add content to my channel directly from my cell phone while I’m on the go. The chat feature is also key because I can get feedback from my audience while they watch, as well as chat with other producers about their shows

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑